Having a bath

I never feel so much myself as when I’m in a hot bath.

A woman in a bubble bath (Berlin, February 1930).

A woman in a bubble bath (Berlin, February 1930). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Reading this line in The Bell Jar has made me think about the whole bathing experience. Today you can have a hot tub in your back garden, place something that looks as if it’s a cream cake in the water and watch it explode, or buy a Victorian bath with chrome plated feet.
I am now on a quest to find a story where a bath is integral to the plot.
2 thoughts on “Having a bath

  1. I like the vintage photo and love the Plath quote.

    I was drawn here while doing a tag search for “Sylvia Plath” posts.

    I am currently reading Plath’s journals in preparation for a writing project and I’m hoping to foster some dialogue about Plath’s life and work. I did a brief post on her early perspectives here –

    http://writingforfoodinindy.wordpress.com/2013/05/25/beauty-out-of-sorrow-reflections-of-a-young-sylvia-plath/

    I would love for you to drop by and join the conversation.

    Keep up the good blogging. I wish you well in your search for a “bathing” plot.

Leave a Reply

